Container Gardening · Fall · Gardening · Winter

From Sunroom to Garden Room

 

Indoor Garden Bed1

As the season gets colder and plants that can be grown outside become limited (especially without a cold frame), sometimes we feel like we just can’t plant anything. Even if we could plant some of us just stick to containers like pots. Does this sound familiar? Well, here is where a garden bed for inside comes in. Well at least if you have a sunroom you don’t mind turning into a gardening room. 😛 It’s just an extra idea.

My boyfriend and I built this keeping appearance in mind; therefore, having a shelf of sorts on top, and having a distressed paint job. Inside I have lettuce, an aloe plant, a pea plant, mescaline mix, arugula, and etc. They are all cold weather plants (since its fall time), and are also plants that need less sunlight. All of the plants, except the aloe, was grown from seed up. Hopefully, I can put grow lights that are going to be held by the shelves soon. Only problem is, my sunroom doesn’t have an outlet.

The rest of the Sunroom looks like such: (Yes, these pictures were taken at night. I’ll post daytime pictures later on.)

Left side: I have my garden bed here, and onto of that there’s a newly planted herb pot. On the floor I have two pots for herbs. One of them has sweet basil, Thai basil, and parsley. The other pot is also newly potted and has, lemon thyme, Greek oregano, and sage.

pizap.com14476497000091

Right Side:

Here I have a porch table that has a bunch of gardening books, herbal remedies, and an egg carton for a seed starter. There’s also a tree that came with the house (don’t know what to do with it yet), and my potting table. On the shelf on the potting table I have an orchid plant that I’m trying to revive, and a watering can. On the table I have a couple of seed packs, mason jars that used to have my basil plant, and my dead rosemary plant. I highly advise not to use mason jars for gardening. There just isn’t enough room for the roots to grow.

pizap.com14476495866261

Anyways, I just wanted to give a bit of a room tour of my “garden”room. I’ll probably give instructions on how to build my garden bed at some point, and how I potted my herbs. Have a wonderful day!

One thought on “From Sunroom to Garden Room

Leave a comment